The Purcell Society

Publishing the complete works of Henry Purcell

Home The Purcell Society Edition Companion Series Contact us

Henry Purcell: Sacred Music, Part Four – Continuo Anthems I, edited by Robert Thompson (Purcell Society Edition Vol. 28)

Purcell Society Edition Volume 28 contains the following anthems by Purcell:

Turn thou us, O good Lord (Z.62)
Who hath believed our report? (Z.64)
Lord, who can tell how oft he offendeth? (Z.26)
Blessed be the Lord my strength (Z.6)
Let God arise (Z.23)
O Lord our Governor (Z.39)
Give sentence with me, O God (Z.12)
O praise the Lord, all ye heathen (Z.43)
I will love thee, O Lord (Z.N67)
The Lord is King, and hath put on glorious apparel (Z.N69)
Let mine eyes run down with tears (Z.24)
Hear my prayer, O God (Z.14)
O Lord, thou art my God (Z.41)
Out of the deep (Z.45)

Pelham Humfrey: By the waters of Babylon,
adapted for organ accompaniment by Henry Purcell (?)

Publisher: Stainer & Bell
Publication date: 2021

The full score is available to purchase from Stainer & Bell in hardback.

Individual titles are also available as offprints and as PDF files. Please contact Stainer & Bell for further details.

Note about the edition:

This edition supersedes the original Purcell Society Edition Vol. 28 edited by Anthony Lewis and Nigel Fortune and published by Novello & Co. in 1959.