The Purcell Society

Publishing the complete works of Henry Purcell

Home The Purcell Society Edition Companion Series Contact us

Henry Purcell: Fantazias and Miscellaneous Instrumental Music, edited by Thurston Dart, revised by Michael Tilmouth (Purcell Society Edition Vol. 31)

Purcell Society Edition Volume 31 contains the following works by Purcell:

Fantazias of Three Parts
Fantazia 1
Fantazia 2
Fantazia 3
Fantazias of Four Parts
Fantazia 4
Fantazia 5
Fantazia 6
Fantazia 7
Fantazia 8
Fantazia 9
Fantazia 10
Fantazia 11
Fantazia 12
Other works
Fantazia upon One Note
In Nomine of Six Parts
In Nomine of Seven Parts
Pavan of Three Parts in G minor
Pavan of Three Parts in A minor
Pavan of Three Parts in A major
Pavan of Three Parts in B flat major
Pavan of Four Parts
Fantazia: Three Parts on a Ground
Suite in G major
The Staircase Overture
Overture in D minor
Overture in G major
Overture in G minor
Sonata for Trumpet and Strings
Cibell for Trumpet and Strings
The Queen’s Funeral March and Canzona
Prelude for unaccompanied Violin or Recorder


Fantazia of Four Parts (No. 13: incomplete)
Trio-Sonata for Violin, Bass Viol and Continuo
Fragments of Overtures, Dances, etc.
Examples of Counterpoint and Canon

Publisher: Novello & Co. (now Wise Music)
Publication date: 1990

The score is available to purchase in paperback.

Note about the edition:

This edition supersedes the original Purcell Society Edition Vol. 31, Fantazias and other instrumental music, edited by Thurston Dart and published by Novello & Co. in 1959.