The Purcell Society

Publishing the complete works of Henry Purcell

Home The Purcell Society Edition Companion Series Contact us

Henry Purcell: Twelve Sonatas of Three Parts, edited by Michael Tilmouth (Purcell Society Edition Vol. 5)

Purcell Society Edition Volume 5 contains the twelve sonatas that Henry Purcell published in 1683 as his Sonnata’s of III parts. These sonatas, Z. 790-801, are scored for two violins, bass viol/cello, and harpsichord or organ.

Publisher: Novello & Co. (now Wise Music)
Publication date: 1976

The full score is available to purchase in paperback. Separate violin and cello parts are also available to purchase.

Note about the edition:

This edition supersedes the original Purcell Society Edition Vol. 5 edited by J.A. Fuller Maitland and published by Novello and Ewer in 1893.