The Purcell Society

Publishing the complete works of Henry Purcell

Home The Purcell Society Edition Companion Series Contact us

Henry Purcell: Ten Sonatas of Four Parts, edited by Michael Tilmouth (Purcell Society Edition Vol. 7)

Purcell Society Edition Volume 7 contains the 10 trio sonatas by Purcell that were first published by his widow in 1697 as Ten Sonatas in Four Parts. These sonatas, Z. 802-811, are scored for the same forces as Purcell’s 1683 set of trio sonatas (2 violins, bass viol/cello, and harpsichord or organ). In the 1697 publication, the string bass and keyboard were counted as two parts, and the sonatas designated as ‘of four parts’, whereas in the 1683 set they were counted as one, and the sonatas were therefore described as being in three parts.

Publisher: Novello & Co. (now Wise Music)
Publication date: 1981

The full score is available in paperback. Instrumental parts are also available for purchase.

Note about the edition:

This edition supersedes the original Purcell Society Edition Vol. 7 edited by Charles Villiers Stanford and published by Novello and Ewer in 1896.